My friends, I address you all tonight as you truly are; wizards, mermaids, travelers, adventurers, magicians… Come and dream with me.”

Hugo is a movie that I recently watched. I honestly had not heard of it until I saw it win a handful of Academy Awards. One day a couple of weeks ago I was bored. I hopped in my car and headed to the closest Redbox. Nothing seemed appealing until I came across “Hugo.” I instantly chose it. Let me just say that I loved this movie. Loved it. I loved the method in which it was shot. Granted, I have no idea how it was shot, but I loved the color and movement. I also really enjoyed that it took place in Europe. I swear that a part of my heart is in Europe and I’m drawn there continually. This grand story was quite redemptive. The acting was wonderful. The movie was magical. The quotes I’ve listed leapt from the movie screen to my heart. I loved them for a handful of reasons. Fully expect to see these quotes again.

I’d imagine the whole world was one big machine. Machines never come with any extra parts, you know. They always come with the exact amount they need. So I figured if the entire world was one big machine… I couldn’t be an extra part. I had to be here for some reason.”

Maybe that’s why a broken machine always makes me a little sad, because it isn’t able to do what it was meant to do… Maybe it’s the same with people. If you lose your purpose… it’s like you’re broken.”


