“With arms high and heart abandoned…”
To be abandoned is to be wholly free from restraint.

Today I was feeling particularly distant. I knew it was sin. I knew that in the last 3 days I let my feelings and fears drive my decision-making. As I was thinking through this I was listening to music. Three songs came on in a row. These songs reminded me of deep, deep truths about my God and soothed my guilt, shame and disgust.

Song 1: I Lift My Hands by Chris Tomlin

Be still, there is a healer
His love is deeper than the sea
His mercy, it is unfailing
His arms are a fortress for the weak

Be still, there is a river
That flows from Calvary’s tree
A fountain for the thirsty
Pure grace that washes over me

I lift my hands to believe again
You are my refuge, You are my strength
As I pour out my heart, these things I remember
You are faithful, God, forever

Song 2: Stronger by Hillsong

Faithfulness none can deny
Through the storm and through the fire
There is truth that sets me free
Jesus Christ who lives in me

You are stronger you are stronger
Sin is broken you have saved me
It is written Christ is risen
Jesus you are Lord of all

No beginning and no end
You’re my hope and my defense
You came to seek and save the lost
You paid it all upon the cross

Song 3: The Stand by Hillsong

So what can I say
What can I do
But offer this heart O God
Completely to You

So I’ll walk upon salvation
Your Spirit alive in me
This life to declare Your promise
My soul now to stand

So what can I say
What can I do
But offer this heart O God
Completely to You

So I’ll stand
With arms high and heart abandoned
In awe of the One who gave it all

